🔍 Read the full analysis: A 2026 Guide To 10 Best AI Mini PCs For Running Local Workloads on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
A 2026 comparison of AI mini PCs ranks the GEEKOM A9 Max (Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSD) as the best overall pick, with the GMKtec EVO-X3 standing out for 128GB of memory and the GMKtec K15 with Oculink offering external graphics expansion. The guide stresses that memory capacity, memory type, cooling, and connectivity — not processor branding alone — determine what a compact PC can actually run locally.
A 2026 comparison of AI mini PCs has named the GEEKOM A9 Max — pairing AMD’s Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 with 32GB of DDR5 memory and a 2TB SSD — as the best overall pick for running local AI workloads. The guide, published by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, ranks ten configurations and concludes that memory capacity, memory type, cooling, and connectivity, rather than processor branding alone, decide what a compact PC can handle.
The 10 picks
- 1
GMKtec EVO-X3 Mini PC with AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB LPDDR5X, and 2TB PCIe…View on Amazon → - 2
GMKtec EVO-X2 AI Mini PC AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Up to 5.1GHz, 16C/32TView on Amazon → - 3
GEEKOM A9 Max Top AI Mini PC, AMD Ryzen AI9 HX470, 32GB DDR5, 2TB SSDView on Amazon → - 4
GEEKOM IT15 Mini PC with Intel Ultra 9 285H, 32GB DDR5, 1TB SSD, Arc 140T GPU…View on Amazon → - 5
MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro-370 Mini PC with AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX370, 32GB DDR5, 1TB SS…View on Amazon → - 6
GEEKOM GT15 Max Business & Professional Mini PC with Intel Core Ultra 9, 32GB…View on Amazon → - 7
GEEKOM IT13 MAX AI Mini PC with Intel Ultra 9 185H, 24GB LPDDR5, 500GB SSDView on Amazon → - 8
Glorlin Mini PC with AMD Ryzen 7 Pro 8845HS, 16GB DDR5 RAM, and 1TB SSDView on Amazon → - 9
GMKtec K15 AI Mini PC Oculink Intel Ultra 5 125U 32GB DDR5 512GB SSD, Desktop…View on Amazon → - 10
GMKtec K15 Mini PC AI Ultra 5 125U, 12-Core, 32GB DDR5, 1TB PCIe 4.0 SSDView on Amazon →
1. GEEKOM A9 Max — Best Overall
The A9 Max takes the top spot for its balanced out-of-box configuration: a Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 processor, 32GB of DDR5 memory, and a 2TB SSD. According to the guide’s author, this is “the most balanced listed package” among the ten picks, requiring no immediate memory or storage upgrade for typical AI-assisted work.
2. GMKtec EVO-X3 — The Memory Leader
The EVO-X3 stands apart for its 128GB of LPDDR5X memory, the largest capacity in the lineup. The guide assigns it a specialist role for workloads that need large models or datasets resident in memory, while noting that soldered LPDDR5X leaves no memory upgrade path after purchase.
3. GMKtec K15 with Oculink — Graphics Expansion Pick
This configuration prioritizes future graphics flexibility through an Oculink connection for an external graphics enclosure. Its listed 512GB SSD is smaller than the NucBox K15’s 1TB drive, so buyers trade included storage for the expansion option.
4. GMKtec NucBox K15 — Storage-First Variant
The NucBox K15, listed with an Intel Core Ultra 5 125U and a 1TB SSD, takes the opposite compromise from its Oculink sibling: more included storage, no external graphics route. Both K15 configurations share the same processor tier.
5. GEEKOM GT15 Max — Premium Chip, 32GB
The GT15 Max is one of several premium-processor options shipping with 32GB of RAM. The guide cautions that buyers should match that capacity to their actual workload rather than assume the highest-tier processor is always the best fit.
6. GEEKOM IT15 — Mid-Tier Balanced Option
The IT15 also arrives with 32GB of memory in its listed configuration. It ranks in the guide’s middle tier: capable of general compute and lighter AI tasks, but positioned below the A9 Max on balance and below the EVO-X3 on memory headroom.
7. MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro — 32GB AI-Badged System
The AI X1 Pro rounds out the 32GB premium group. The guide’s author explicitly warns that AI branding does not establish capability: buyers should verify that their chosen tools support the chip’s specific acceleration features.
8. The Oculink Expansion Category
Beyond the K15 with Oculink, the guide treats external graphics as its own decision category. Oculink adds a path to more GPU capacity, but involves extra hardware, desk space, and setup, and the author advises confirming enclosure, card, connection, and power support before buying.
9. The 2TB Storage Tier
Configurations with 2TB drives — led by the A9 Max — offer the most room from the start for local models, datasets, operating system updates, and project files. The guide recommends estimating space for all models kept available at once, not just the first one a buyer plans to try.
10. Lower-Ranked General-Use Configurations
The remaining listed systems rank lower for demanding local AI use because they are less powerful or less fully equipped. The guide still positions them as viable for development, inference, and everyday AI-assisted tasks where memory and storage demands are constrained.
Why Memory Outranks Processor Branding
The guide’s central finding matters because buyers often shop these machines by chip tier. As the author puts it, for local AI “system memory often decides whether a model or dataset fits before processor speed becomes the main concern.” A processor with a newer name may not help if a buyer’s tools do not support its acceleration features. The rankings also expose the real tradeoffs in this market: a powerful integrated system like the A9 Max versus a smaller, more flexible setup that may need upgrades for demanding tasks. For anyone budgeting between roughly 512GB and 2TB of storage, or between 32GB and 128GB of memory, the guide shows those figures — not the processor label — set the ceiling on what can run locally.
How the Ten Picks Were Ranked
According to the source, the comparison weighed processor class, installed memory, memory type, storage capacity, and expansion options, with priority given to balanced capability and practical fit for AI-related work. Systems serving a clear specialist need — unusually high memory (EVO-X3) or Oculink expansion (K15) — earned dedicated positions. The author states that product names and specifications alone do not establish benchmark performance, cooling behavior, or software compatibility, and the guide deliberately avoids treating those as proven advantages.
“For local AI, system memory often decides whether a model or dataset fits before processor speed becomes the main concern.”
— ThorstenMeyerAI.com guide author
What the Spec Sheets Don’t Prove
The guide is based on listed specifications, not independent testing. Benchmark performance, sustained-load cooling behavior, and real-world software compatibility for each system remain unverified in the source material. The guide does not state which specific AI models were run on any machine, nor does it report inference speeds or thermal results. Memory bandwidth figures, which the author notes affect whether a large-memory model actually runs well, are not compared numerically. Pricing and availability for the listed configurations are also not specified, so cost-per-capability comparisons cannot be made from this source alone.
Buyer Verification Before Purchase
The guide directs buyers toward concrete pre-purchase checks: confirm whether memory is replaceable or soldered, verify that planned tools support the specific chip’s AI acceleration features, estimate storage for all models to be kept locally, and — for Oculink systems — confirm enclosure, card, connection, and power requirements. Readers should supplement the guide with independent benchmark results as they become available for these 2026 configurations, since the author explicitly positions vendor performance claims as starting points for investigation rather than guarantees.
Key Questions
Which AI mini PC is the best overall pick for 2026?
According to the guide, the GEEKOM A9 Max is the best overall pick, combining a Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32GB of DDR5, and a 2TB SSD in a ready-to-use configuration.
Which mini PC has the most memory for large AI models?
The GMKtec EVO-X3 leads with 128GB of LPDDR5X, suited to workloads needing large models or datasets in memory — though its soldered memory cannot be upgraded later.
Does a faster processor guarantee better local AI performance?
No. The guide states that memory capacity, memory bandwidth, and software support for the chip’s acceleration features often matter more than processor tier, and labels like Ultra 9 or Ryzen AI should be read alongside the full configuration.
Is an Oculink port worth choosing a smaller SSD for?
It depends. Oculink enables external graphics expansion, which suits buyers planning that upgrade — but it requires extra hardware, space, and setup, and the guide treats it as a tradeoff (the Oculink K15 ships with 512GB versus 1TB on the NucBox K15).
Are these rankings based on hands-on benchmark testing?
No. The source states the comparison draws on listed specifications, and that product names and specifications alone do not establish benchmark performance, cooling behavior, or software compatibility.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
